Hermanas Mirabal Province trip planner

Create a fully customized
day by day itinerary for free

Itinerary planner

+ Add destination
2 adults
- +
- +
- +

Hermanas Mirabal Province

History Museums
Hermanas Mirabal is a province of the Dominican Republic. It was split from Espaillat Province in 1952 and was originally called Salcedo, the name of its capital city; it is still referred to by this name sometimes. The name change came on November 21, 2007. It commemorates the Mirabal sisters, who made the ultimate sacrifice for their country by giving up a privileged life to fight against the powerful Dominican leader, Rafael Trujillo. The Mirabal sisters came from Salcedo and they were buried here after their murder.The province is very fertile and its main agricultural product is plantain.Municipalities and municipal districtsThe province as of June 20, 2006 is divided into the following municipalities (municipios) and municipal districts (distritos municipales - D.M.) within them: SalcedoJamao Afuera (D.M.)Blanco (D.M.) The following is a sortable table of the municipalities and municipal districts with population figures as of 2012. Urban populations are those living in the seats (cabeceras, literally "heads") of municipalities or of municipal districts; Rural populations are those living in the districts (secciones, literally "sections") and neighborhoods (parajes, literally "places") outside of them.
Before you visit Dominican Republic, use our trip planner to discover what you can do and see there.
Create a full itinerary — for free!

Plan your trip to Hermanas Mirabal Province

  • Get a personalized trip
    A complete day by day itinerary
    based on your preferences
  • Customize it
    Refine your trip. We'll find the
    best routes and schedules
  • Book it
    Choose from the best hotels
    and activities. Up to 50% off
  • Manage it
    Everything in one place.
    Everyone on the same page.

Places to visit in Hermanas Mirabal Province